FeaturedNews

Facebook Is Secretly Using Your iPhone Camera

Facebook is secretly using your iPhone camera and that too while you are browsing through your newsfeed.

This issue has been rectified in devices running iOS 13.2.2 but devices running older versions of iOS 13 and even iOS 12 may have their privacy compromised.

Facebook is known for its privacy negligence, data leaks and using users’ data without their consent is one of Facebook’s many blunders. It is the reason that the social network was fined $644,000 in the UK following the Cambridge Analytica data leak.

The issue is termed as a bug so far but we are not sure if this is another try by Facebook to invade users’ privacy to “provide a better experience”.

This issue, Facebook secretly using iPhone camera has been found in devices running iOS 13.1.3, iOS 12.4 and even in the latest iOS 13.2.2, The Next Web reported.

How to prevent Facebook from using your camera

Like we said earlier, this is still termed as a bug but we can’t take risk of allowing Facebook to use our camera without even asking. There is also no evidence of the social network recording the video. To be safe here’s what you can do to prevent Facebook from quietly accessing your camera.

  1. Open Settings on your iPhone
  2. Tap Privacy
  3. Tap Camera
  4. Disable Facebook’s camera access

You can also choose to block Facebook’s microphone access as well.

For our readers who own an Android device, this issue is not yet reported on Android phones.

Show More

Zia

Zia is the Chief Editor and an Apple products' enthusiast who covers stories about Apple products, Apple's business news and rumors. For tips, typos, and questions contact zia@slashapple.com

Related Articles

Close